you got what it takes

From straight-ahead jazz to smooth-as-silk duos, Kevin's third release under the Enja label highlights his versatile vocal style. Heartfelt ballads like "Sophisticated Lady" and "My Funny Valentine" showcase Kevin's baritone gifts. Then in the blink of a digital eye, Kevin cranks up the energy with up-tempo burners like "Just In Time" and Yardbird Suite." Kevin has surrounded himself with world class musicians in this musical document that proves this jazz singer has what it takes to be around for a long time.

Kevin Mahogany, vocals - Benny Golson, tenor saxophone - James Williams, piano - Michael Formanek, bass - Victor Lewis, drums - Jeanie Bryson, vocal (You Got What It Takes)

1. Baby You Got What It Takes
2. Stockholm Sweetnin'
3. Just In Time
4. Sophisticated Lady
5. Route 66
6. Here's That Rainy Day
7. Yardbird Suite
8. My Funny Valentine
9. Old Times Sake
10. BG's Groove
11. God Bless The Child
12. Little Sherri
13. Please Send Me Someone To Love

Enja, 1995